Types of Squamous Cell Carcinoma

There are several types of squamous cell carcinoma. Some are more likely to spread than others, but in general, most share similar characteristics. The primary difference between each subtype is histological (related to the unique characteristics of the cancerous cells).

To determine which type of squamous cell carcinoma a patient has, a pathologist will examine a tissue sample underneath a microscope. By identifying the type of cells that are present in a lesion, an oncologist can tailor a patient’s treatment plan to achieve the best possible outcome and quality of life.

The primary types of squamous cell carcinoma are:

  • Adenoid/pseudoglandular squamous cell carcinoma
  • Intraepidermal squamous cell carcinoma
  • Large cell keratinizing squamous cell carcinoma
  • Large cell non-keratinizing squamous cell carcinoma
  • Lymphoepithelial carcinoma
  • Papillary squamous cell carcinoma
  • Papillary thyroid carcinoma
  • Small cell keratinizing squamous cell carcinoma
  • Spindle cell squamous cell carcinoma
  • Verrucous squamous-cell carcinoma

At Moffitt Cancer Center, we diagnose and treat a complete range of skin cancers, including the unique variants of squamous cell carcinoma. Screening, staging and long-term follow-up services are also available as part of our commitment to providing comprehensive care.

Because the surgeons, radiation therapists, dermatologists and dermatopathologists within our Cutaneous Oncology Program work exclusively with skin cancer patients, they are uniquely qualified to determine which treatments offer the most promise for each patient’s specific diagnosis. Our treatment plans are customized in a number of different ways, with extensive consideration given to not only outcomes but also quality of life.

Referrals are not required to seek a diagnosis or treatment at Moffitt. If you’ve been diagnosed with – or are concerned that you are showing signs of – one of the different types of squamous cell carcinoma, call 1-888-663-3488 or submit a new patient registration form online.