News and Noteworthy

Three Moffitt Researchers Named to New AACR Cancer Evolution Working Group

July 29, 2021 – Moffitt Cancer Center research faculty members Drs. Robert Gatenby, Robert Gillies and Andriy Marusyk have been named to The American Association for Cancer Research newly formed scientific working group dedicated to supporting cancer evolution research.

The mission of the AACR Cancer Evolution Working Group is to advance cancer diagnostic, therapeutic, and prevention strategies by fostering a fundamental understanding of cancer evolution amongst its members and the broader cancer research community.

Moffitt Physician Selected for NCCN Oncology Research Program Funding

July 15, 2021 - The National Comprehensive Cancer Network® Oncology Research Program selected clinical trial led by Rutika Mehta, M.D., MPH, assistant member of the Gastrointestinal Oncology Department at Moffitt Cancer Center, as one of three research projects to be funding. All the projects evaluate the use of neratinib, a tyrosine kinase inhibitor, in various tumor types. The funding is in partnership with Puma Biotechnology, Inc. Mehta’s trial is a phase 2 study of neratinib in combination with chemotherapy and trastuzumab in HER2 overexpressing gastroesophageal cancers.

Moffitt Researcher Named President of the Society for Mathematical Biology

June 25, 2021 - Heiko Enderling, Ph.D. has been named president of the Society for Mathematical Biology. The organization was founded in 1973 to promote the development and dissemination of research and education at the interface between the mathematical and biological sciences.

Inaugural Dr. Louis B. Harrison Award Announced

June 5, 2021 - Dr. Austin Sim, a graduate fellow in Radiation Oncology, was named the first-ever recipient of the Louis B. Harrison Award this month.

Residency directors Drs. Jessica Frakes and Stephen Rosenberg announced the award on June 5. The award, funded by Eileen and Howard Curd, is focused on teaching physician leadership and is believed to be the only longitudinal program of its kind in the country.

Issam El Naqa, Ph.D. Awarded Michael S. Patterson Publication Impact Prize in Medical Physics

June 1, 2021 - Issam El Naqa, Ph.D, was the Michael S. Patterson Publication Impact Prize in Medical Physics for 2021 for his role as senior author on the article titled, "A radiomics model from joint FDG-PET and MRI texture features for the prediction of lung metastases in soft-tissue sarcomas of the extremetities." The paper advanced the field of radiomics by proposing a new technique based on joint fluorine-18 fluorodeoxyglucose  positron emission tomography and magnetic resonance texture-based multivariable model in order to better predict aggressive tumors.

This prize was introduced in 2016 and is awarded for a scientific paper written by a member of the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists who has had a tremendous impact on the field of medical physics.